Karen Baptist Convention - KBC
  => The Organizations
  => Aim and Objectives
  => The Departments
  => Projects
  => Commissions under the Supervision of General Secretary
  => The Institution and Work Centre
  => The Administration Officers of the Convention
  => Directors of the Departments
  => Coordinators of the Projects
  Google Search
  Partner Link

The Karen Baptist Convention
    The KBC is the co-operation and co-ordinating body of all the Karen Baptist Churches in Myanmar.

Brief Historical Background
    The first Karen Baptist convert was a former bandit and murderer named Saw Ko Tha Byu. He was converted through the ministry of the American Baptist pioneer missionary Adoniram Judson. Later he asked for baptism, and on a trip to Dawei with George Dana Boardman, the first American Baptist Missionary to the Karens, he was baptized at Dawei on May 16, 1828, at the age of 50. His conversion turned him into a flaming evangelist. By the time of  his death on September 9, 1840, at age 62, there were 1270 Baptist church members among the Karens. He was also given a title of "The Karen Apostle" by The American missionaries.

Aims and Objectives
  • To spread the Gospel of Christ in Myanmar and in other countries as well.
  • To promote Christian Education work in all its churches and institutions for the strengthening of Christian Faith at every age level.
  • To prepare, promote, and equip future Karen Baptist           leaders for the ministry.
  • To publish Christian literatures, Bibles, and Hymn Books for the spiritual uplift of its members.
  • To meet annually for fellowship and inspiration and to  execute related and relevant business of the Convention.
  • To co-operate with the Myanmar Baptist Convention and the Myanmar Council of Churches for the spreading of the Gospel.
  • To hold property, movable, and immovable, to buy and sell, or to transfer as it seems proper to accomplish the purposes mentioned above.
  •     The Covention, however, shall have no power to interfere with the internal affairs of its churches and associations in its endeavor to fulfill its purposes.
The Organization
    The following churches associations co-orperate fully in the work of the Convention.
(1)      The Hpa-an Mawlamyaing Karen Baptist Association.
(2)      The Pathein Myaungmya Sgaw Karen Baptist Association.
(3)      The Yangon Home Mission Karen Baptist Association.
(4)      The Hinthada Karen Baptist Association.
(5)      The Shwegyin Karen Baptist Association.
(6)      The Toungoo Paku Karen Baptist Association.
(7)      The Toungoo Thandawn Bwe Moh Bwa Karen Baptist    
(8)      The Dawei Myeik Karen Baptist Association.
(9)      The Toungoo Kehko Kehbah  Karen Baptist Association.
(10)    The Pyi Thayawady Karen Baptist Association.
(11)    The Kayah Moh Bwa Baptist Association
(12)    The Hpa-pun Karen Baptist Association.
(13)    The Nyaunglebin Karen Baptist Association.
(14)    The Upper Myanmar Karen Baptist Association.
(15)    The Myaungmya Sgaw Karen Baptist Association.
(16)    The Myeik Karen Baptist Association.
(17)    The Kayah Poo Baptist Association.
(18)    The Bago-Yangon Baptist Association

The Departments of the Convention
    (1)    Finance and Property Department
    (2)    Evangelism and Mission Department
    (3)    Christian Education Department
    (4)    Publication Department
    (5)    Care and Counseling Department
    (6)    Leadership Promotion Department
    (7)    Christian Social Service & Development Department
    (8)    Theological Department
    (9)    Department for Youth Work
    (10)    Women's Department
    (11)    Ministers' Department
    (12)    Communication Department
    (13)    Men's Department
    (14)    Literature and Culture Department

Projects of the Convention
    (1)    Study Bible translation Project
    (2)    21st Century 10-year project
    (3)    Social Ministry Projects

Commissions under the Supervision of General Secretary
    (1)    Church Affairs and Peace
    (2)     Partnership in  Mission

The Institution and Work Centre
    (1)    The Karen Baptist Theological Seminary
    (2)    The Go-Foward Printing Press
    (3)    Rural Mission Development Centre
    (4)     KBC Care Clinic
The Administration Officers of  the Convention
President            - Rev. She` Ka Wee
Vice President            - Rev.Hsa Law La
Vice President            - Rev. Ler Wah
General Secretary        -  Rev. Greeta Din
Associate General Secretary    -  Rev. Nee Doh Htoo
Treasurer            -  Rev. Crainer

Directors of the Departments
    (1)    Finance and Property    -    Rev. Crainer   
    (2)    Evangelism & Mission    -  Rev. Eh Thaw
    (3)     Christian Education     -     Thra Harrison
    (4)     Publication     -    Thra Kay Ra Sho
    (5)    Care & Counseling    -     Thramu Magnolia
    (6)     Leadership Promotion     -     Thramu Lay Htoo
    (7)     Christian Social Service & Development- Thra Hla Pe
    (8)     Theological     -     Thramu Lah Yu Paw
    (9)     Department for Youth Work-  Thra Moo Ler
      (10)    Women's Department     -     Thramu Myaung Mya Paw
    (11)     Ministers' Department    -     Rev.Dr. Samson
    (12)     Communication    -      Rev. Greeta Din
    (13)     Men's Department    -     Rev. Greeta Din
    (14)    Literature and Culture    -     Thra Daniel Ban Du
Today, there have been 6 visitors (9 hits) on this page!
This website was created for free with Own-Free-Website.com. Would you also like to have your own website?
Sign up for free